I love Saturdays, especially when up in Michigan! This is one of the days that Boule Bakery in Plymouth has fresh jalapeño cheddar bread! After a quick bite, we headed to the bakery. Good stuff and highly recommend if ever in the neighborhood.

Breakfast: 2 cups of coffee. Lots of water (I literally chug glasses of tap water sometimes).

Lunch: Smoked Gouda and Spicy Chicken Breast Sandwiches on Rye.  I had a piece of spicy chicken breast left from the other evening, so I quickly chopped this up and added diced smoked gouda cheese to the mix. Spread this on rye bread and pan cooked with butter. We both really enjoyed this “not so typical” grilled cheese sandwich!

Dinner:  Turkey brats on a French Baguette, Pigeon Peas, and Potatoes Hashed in Cream.  Steamed the turkey brats and lightly toasted the baguettes…..on the side had various condiments like mustard, mayo, sliced jalapeno, grated cheddar cheese.  As for the pigeon peas, this was a first for me.  We had a can of these from the local grocery store.  I simply drained, tossed in a pan, and heated with a tad of butter and a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash.  These were quite good and tasted a bit like a lentil.  We will definitely buy these again! As for the potatoes: I had two very large baking potatoes which I cut in thirds and simmered until fork tender. I then removed these from the pan (reserving about 1 cup of the boiling water), cut into large chunks, and set aside. To the reserved boiling water I added one small diced yellow onion and simmered for about 3-4 minutes, returned the potatoes to the pan, and added the following – 3 tbsp butter, approximately 3/4 cup milk, salt, pepper, and Paprika to taste.  Heated through and adjusted consistency with a bit more milk.  We both ate way too much and enjoyed with good wine!

Snacks: Too full for any!

