Breakfast: two cups of coffee with a dash of cinnamon.   

Lunch: McCann’s Steel Cut Oatmeal.  As much as I love eggs, oatmeal is always a good thing :), especially steel cut oats!  I like mine with butter and sugar, Glenn with chopped pineapple and  1 percent milk.   

Dinner: Italian Meatballs with Spicy Marinara over Rice; Broccoli, Corn and Carrot Salad.  I feel like we have eaten this Italian sausage for days, but it was on sale, lean, and  really is tasty!  I made about 6 large meatballs, and then pan-fried in a little olive oil with a dash of crushed hot peppers sprinkled in the pan.  Once browned I drained, and set aside.  In the same pan, I heated some spicy marinara sauce from the freezer.  I have so many types of  homemade sauces frozen from last summer, I figured it was time to start using!!!  While the sauce was defrosting and warming, I shredded 10 small carrots. chopped broccoli to make one cup, and defrosted about 1 cup of Ohio sweet corn (again from last summer, taken off the cob, blanched, and frozen!).  I placed these in a salad bowl, squeezed lemon juice over top, added a little olive oil and tbsp of Veganaise, salt, and pepper, and a little curry powder.  This dish was pretty and very simple!  Once the sauce was hot, I placed the meatballs back in the pan and reheated.  I served this over steamed white rice with the salad on the side.    

Italian Meatballs over Rice; Broccoli, Corn, and Carrot Salad

 

Snack: several almonds and an orange.   

Save the Date:  Suburban Harvest, in Plymouth, Michigan, will be making Herbal Tea Vinegar in the store with a Chartreuse Tea representative. Please stop in and learn the ropes at the Chartreuse Tea School…Saturday, 2/6/2010.  Call Katie for details – .  No charge 🙂

