Breakfast: 2 cups of coffee.  

Lunch: Bruegger’s Bagel.   I had a coupon for a free Bruegger’s Bagel..so stopped and enjoyed a plain bagel with jalapeno cream cheese.  So good!  I felt badly about not purchasing anything, but did give the lady who helped me a nice tip.  

Dinner Chicken Pot Pie with Root Veggies.  I love chicken pot pie!  I cut corners by using Pet Ritz Deep Dish Pie Crust, as well as a frozen carrot and pea mix.  What can I say?  Busy day and shortcuts help!  I steamed three chicken breasts in a 1/2 cup chicken broth and 1/2 water mixture.  Once done I shredded/chopped this into bite size pieces.   Meanwhile, I had cleaned and chopped 1 turnip, 1 parsnip, 1 rutabaga, and 1 small onion, and placed in the oven at 350 with a bit of olive oil to coat.  I cooked these until soft – about 30 minutes.  In a large saucepan, I added 1 cup water and 1/2 cup chicken broth, and thickened with a  water and flour mixture.  I tossed in the chicken, about 1 1/2 cups of the  frozen pea/carrot mixture and the cooked root veggies.  I salted and peppered to taste, and cooked for a minute or so on low, adjusting liquid to the right consistency.  I placed one of the pie crusts in the oven for about 5 minutes (in the pie pan!) and then added the pot pie filling.  The second pie crust was then placed over top, edges sealed, and slits made. I placed back in the oven and cooked until the crust was nicely browned.  Thanks to my sister-in-law, I always serve chicken pot pie with honey.  Yummy!!!   

Chicken Pot Pie (well what was left!) with Root Veggies

 

    

Snack: one banana and one orange.

