Mush vs. Polenta –   If you buy “polenta” in the meat department,  usually near the bacon and sausages, it is called cornmeal mush.  If you buy it elsewhere in the store, it is called polenta.  The funny thing is, you pay twice the amount for plain polenta when mush is exactly the same thing!  Mush never comes flavored, though, so if you are looking for flavored polenta, you have to spend the extra money, or cheaper yet, make it yourself!  I suspect mush is more regional to the midwest, but am not sure.

Breakfast: 2 cups of Coffee with Honey.

Lunch: Cornmeal Mush.  I sliced up the cornmeal mush and fried in a small mix of olive oil and butter.  I love my mush with pure maple syrup.  Simple and easy and just one way of eating it.

Dinner: Turkey Chili made with Scotch Bonnet Peppers.  We love chili, and the hotter the better in this house!  I started by browning one pound of lean ground turkey in a large pan.  I drained what little oil there was, and added 1 small diced onion and 1 mashed garlic clove, to the pan, cooking for a few minutes.  I had already soaked and cooked pinto beans and black beans, so added those along with 1 can of chopped tomatoes, a few chopped sun-dried tomatoes, and about 1 cup of water.  I then added at least 3 frozen Scotch Bonnet peppers from last summer – finely minced – along with several slices of jalapeno peppers.  I then added about 2 tsp of cumin, sea salt, fresh ground black pepper, stirring well.  I covered and simmered on low for a couple of hours, adding water as necessary, along with a dash of chili flakes.  Yes, we like flavor and heat!  I served over rice with shredded cheddar, chopped onions, and sour cream.  So good!!!!!!

Turkey Chili made with Scotch Bonnet Peppers

Snack: Flax Snacks and an Orange.

