Kalbi ribs are a favorite of mine, but finding the right cut of meat, or even getting a butcher to do this, is difficult in Ohio.  I was thrilled to find the correct cut (both the thicker English style and the preferred “flanken”/thin cut.).  I was at Cleveland’s West Side Market and one of the vendors there starting providing this awesome cut recently.  So, Kalbi ribs for dinner!!  

Breakfast: 2 cups of coffee with cinnamon.  

Lunch: Banana and Peach Smoothie.  I had a banana that was way over-ripe, and frozen Ohio peaches, so a simple smoothie was on the menu.  I blended these with a bit of honey and flax, and yummy!  

Kalbi (Korean) Short Ribs with Rice and Green Beans.  I ingredients used:  

  • 2 lbs flanken beef short ribs, 1/4″ thick 
  • 2 green onions – chopped
  • 4 large cloves of garlic – chopped
  • 3/4″ ginger – minced
  • 1 teaspoon hot red pepper flakes
  • 1 large Bosc pear – shaved
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 3 tablespoons granulated white sugar
  • 1/4 cup mirin
  • 1/2 cup Aloha Shoyu (Soy) sauce
  • I mixed all the ingredients, placed in a zip-lock bag, and marinated for several hours.  I then shook off the excess before grilling for about 6-8 minutes total.  Meanwhile the rice was cooked and the green beans steamed, and the tastiest dinner ever was served!  Reminds me every time of plate lunch in Hawaii (minus macaroni salad, of course!  

    Kalbi Short Ribs

     

    Snack: Almonds

